Sunday, December 14, 2008

be the change

Jainism: one of the oldest religion that is still practiced by a large number of people. This is one institution of faith which is relatively untouched by the impurities of time. Jainism is more of a philosophy than a religion. It consists of 5 basic principles, which helps to create a platform for the Jainistic way of living.

  1. Ahinsa (Non-Violence)
  2. Satya (Truth )
  3. Asteya (Non-Stealing)
  4. Bramhacharya (Celibacy)
  5. Aparigraha (Non-Attachment)
Jain philosophy does not believe in a single god. It says every living thing has the potential to become sidhdha (pure soul). Everything which can change itself, which has energy then it can change the world; hence every thing can be qualified to be the supreme authority. So a true follower of the god should salute this potential. the 5 basic principles are just an extension to this philosophy. 
Ahinsa means more than non - killing. Any act which hurts someone or can cripple its ability to progress is called Ahinsa. Satya can be defined as a more specific form of Ahinsa and should be followed in a harmless manner. 
Jainism believes in playing the role which has been assigned to an individual and play it in accordance to the 5 vows. One should earn something then only he should enjoy his earnings. 
The human life is defined as a journey, and the destination of this journey is Moksha: the State when a living entity is able to identify the divine in itself. Celibacy is prescribed to overcome the extreme form of indulgence that this life has to offer. 
One should save only that much which is absolutely necessary for living. Anything more than that is depriving someone needy. That doesnt mean that one should not make an effort to earn more and use his/ her capabilities to contribute the progress; that extra earning should be used for the welfare of the ones who cant help themselves. 
Jain Muni practice these principle to the extreme, and set an example to the world to follow them. 
Jainism says All good and evil resides within oneself only. So instead of trying to change the world one should bring the change in itself. Overcome the Evil and be a Jinendra, and bring out the good. Hence the individual can be a unit of change; the positive and pregressive change.

No comments:

Post a Comment